Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

60 Prominent Women Condemn UN Anti-Zionist Resolution

November 12, 1975
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Sixty prominent women today sent a telegram to UN Secretary General Kurt Waldheim, General Assembly President Gaston Thorn and Assistant Secretary General Helvi Sipila condemning the anti-Zionist resolution.

"As women committed to the worldwide struggle for human rights and equality," it is "our unanimous conviction that all human rights are indivisible. We are appalled at the ‘racist’ label applied solely to the national self-determination movement of the Jewish people. We decry this implicit denial of Israeli statehood and this incitement to world wide anti-Semitism." The resolution, they continued, is the "first and only time an authentic movement for national and ethnic survival would be condemned as racist. This resolution endangers the moral principles of the United Nations Charter by abandoning them to cynical political expediency."

Signers of the statement included: Rep, Bella Abzug (D,NY); Dr. Phyllis Chesler, psychologist, author; Joan Ganz Cooney, president, Children’s Television Workshop; Karen De Crow, president, National Organization of Women: Joan Davidson, chairwoman, N.Y. State Council on the Arts; Helen Gahagan Douglas, former Congresswoman Nora Ephron, author; Rep. Millicent Fenwick (R.NJ); and Geraldine Fitzgerald, actress.

Also, Dr. Erika Freeman, psychoanalyst, Councilor of American Association of Social Psychiatry; Betty Friedan, former president of NOW; Vivian Gornick, author and editor: Elinor Guggenheimer, Commissioner, Consumer Affairs, N.Y.C,; Rita Hauser, attorney, former U.S, delegate to United Nations; Rep. Elizabeth Holtzman (D.NY); Mary Ann Krupsack, Lieutenant Governor of New York; Myrna Lamb, playwright; Dr. Margaret Mead, anthropologist; Bess Myerson, former Commissioner of Consumer Affairs, N.Y.C.; and Eleanor Holmes Norton, Commissioner, Human Rights, N.Y,C.

Also, Lee Novick, vice-chairwoman, National Women’s Political Caucus; Grace Paley, author; Beverly Sills, opera star; Althea T.L. Simmons, national director for education programs, NAACP; Gloria Steinem, editor, MS, Magazine; Anna Strasberg, actress; Elizabeth Taylor, actress; Sister Rose Thering, educator, Seton Hall University; Barbara Tuchman, historian; Dr. Jacqueline Wexler, president, Hunter College, CUNY; and Shelley Winters, actress.

Recommended from JTA