Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

News Brief


Al Gore, Tom Stoppard and Amoz Oz are among the 2008 Dan David Prize winners.

The winners in each category from three time dimensions — past, present and future — will be presented $1 million prizes in a ceremony in May at Tel Aviv University.

Oz, an Israeli author, and Stoppard, a British playwright, share the prize in the past category in the field of literature, theater and film with Canadian filmmaker Atom Egoyan.

Gore, the former U.S. vice president and a Nobel Prize winner, won in the present category in the field of social responsibility with emphasis on the environment.

Sharing the prize in the future category, in the field of geosciences, are American professors Ellen Moseley-Thompson and Lonnie Thompson of Ohio State University, and British scientist Geoffrey Eglinton.

The Dan David Prize each year rewards achievements that have an outstanding scientific, technological, cultural or social impact on the world.

Founded in 2001, the prize is named for international businessman and philanthropist Dan David and headquartered at Tel Aviv University.

Recommended from JTA