Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

American Jewish Congress Presents Awards to Israel’s Ambassador and Others

April 13, 1951
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Israel’s Ambassador Abba Eban, Dr. Raphael Lemkin, the American Association for Jewish Education and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People were the recipients tonight of the Stephen S. Wise awards for distinguished service at the annual dinner of the American Jewish Congress sponsored in behalf of the United Jewish Appeal. Principal speakers at the dinner included the Marchioness of Reading, Rabbi Irving Miller, Michael S. Stavitsky and others.

The awards–illuminated scrolls and checks for $1,000 to each of the winners–were established by the American Jewish Congress in 1949. They were presented tonight by Rabbi Philip Bernstein to: Ambassador Eban “for helping to develop mutual and sympathetic understanding between Israel and the United States; Dr. Lemkin for his efforts in the struggle to make genocide an international crime; the A.A.J.E. “for the advancement of Jewish education and culture”; the N.A.A.C.P. for “advancing the civil rights of all Americans.”

Recommended from JTA