Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Dr. Goldmann to Receive Hebrew University Award for 1956

October 19, 1956
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Dr. Nahum Goldmann, president of the Jewish Agency, will receive the Hebrew University-Solomon Bublick Public Service Award for 1956, it was announced today by Daniel G. Ross, president of the American Friends of Hebrew University.

The award, conferred in alternate years on an outstanding scientist or on “the person, Jew or-non-Jew, who has made the most significant contribution to the progress and development of the State of Israel,” will be presented to Dr. Goldmann at the organization’s annual dinner, next Wednesday at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel.

The Bublick award has previously been given to four leaders-Premier David Ben Gurion of Israel; former President Harry S. Truman; and Hebrew University scientists, the late Prof. Eleazer L. Sukenik, Israeli archaeologist who recognized the historic importance of the Dead Sea Scrolls; and atomic scientist Prof Giulio Rach, who heads the Jerusalem University’s Department of Theoretical Physics.

Recommended from JTA