Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Five-man U.N. Palestine Commission Now Complete; Will Hold First Meeting on Jan. 9

December 31, 1947
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The five-nation U.N. Palestine Committee was completed today with the appointments of Dr. Karel Lisicky as the Czechoslovak representative and Raoul Diaz de Medina, as the Bolivian delegate.

Immediately after the disclosure of the appointments, the U.N. Secretariat announced that the Committee will hold its first meeting at Lake Success on Friday, January 9, instead of January 7, as originally scheduled.

The composition of the Committee is as follows:

Bolivia – Dr. Medina, who is Minister-Counsellor to the Bolivian Embassy in Washington.

Czechoslovakia – Dr. Lisicky, a member of the United Nations Special Committee on Palestine.

Denmark – Per Federspiel, delegate to the General Assembly, former Danish Cabinet member and underground Nazi fighter.

Panama – Dr. Eduardo Morgan, former Minister of Education.

Philippines – Sen. Vincente Francisco, majority floor leader of the Philippine

Recommended from JTA