Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

German Jews Name Representatives to Restitution Fund to Allocate Heirless Property

November 23, 1947
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Dr. Philip Auerbach, Commissioner for Persecutees in the Bavarian Cabinot and Dr. Benno Ostertag, who helped draft the restitution law recently promulgated by the American Military Government, have been named members of the “International Restitution Commission,” which has been established by the leading Jewish organizations of the world to decide on the allocation of whatever funds are made available from heirless Jewish property in Germany.

The commission, which will sit in London, was formed early this year at a meeting in New York. It includes representatives of the Agudas Israel, American Jewish Conference, American Jewish Committee, Jewish Agency, the Joint Distribution Committee, World Jewish Congress, Board of Deputies of British Jews, the Central Jewish Fund for Jewish Rehabilitation, the Central Committee of Liberated Jews in Germany and other groups.

Recommended from JTA