Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Greater Facilities for Jewish Youth Education is Urged at Convention

November 29, 1927
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Metropolitan League Re-elects Sol Strook President

The second annual convention of the Metropolitan League of Jewish Community Associations concluded its sessions at the Young Men’s Hebrew Association Building, Ninety-second Street and Lexington Avenue, Sunday, with the re-election of Sol M. Stroock as president.

The morning session was devoted to a discussion of educational methods.

At a dinner in the evening Felix M. Warburg, William Hobson and Ambassador Alanson B. Houghton were the speakers.

Mr. Stroock announced that since last year’s convention of the Metropolitan League over $1,600,000 had been raised for new buildings and additions in the metropolitan area. The sum of $1,360,000 was secured by the 92nd Street Y. M. H. A. for an addition, to contain dormitories for 200 Jewish boys. The sum of $1,000,000 was spent during the past year for the maintenance of the League’s organizations.

Justice Joseph M. Proskauer, Dr. Samson Benderly, Rabbi Israel Goldstein discussed Jewish educational and religious training. Dr. Benderly stated that of the 800,000 Jewish children in the public schools of the United States, only 200,000 were receiving religious education. Much of this training is wasted, according to Dr. Benderly, because it is so meagre. He urged the Y. M. and Y. W. H. A.’s and Jewish Centers to provide Jewish education.

Rabbi Israel Goldstein stated that the synagogue had been talking a great deal about the Jewish youth but had done nothing for the youth. He opposed the synagogue center and the millions spent in their buildings on the ground that it was doubtful whether the children and youth were brought into the synagogue. He advocated giving the responsible representatives of the youth a place in the administration of the synagogue, and holding special services appealing to them, particularly the Jewish college student.

The Convention elected the following officers beside the president: Mrs. Jerome J. Hanauer, M. Maldwin Fertig, L. K. Goldman and Harry M. Marks, Vice Presidents; Hugo H. Piesen, Treasurer and Milton Weill, Secretary.

Recommended from JTA