Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Gurfein Re-elected President of United Hias Service; Board Expanded

March 4, 1966
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Murray I. Gurfein was re-elected as president of United Hias Service, Mr. Gurfein’s term of office is his ninth consecutive tenure as president, it was reported today. Max M. Fisher of Detroit, and Daniel Ifshin were elected vice-presidents. Mr. Fisher is national chairman of the United Jewish Appeal, Mr. Ifshin continues to serve as chairman of the United Hias Council of Organizations. A new post, associate secretary, was created by the meeting, and Thomas Baer was chosen to that office.

All the other major officers were re-elected. They included Carlos L. Israels and Ben Touster, associate chairmen of the board of directors, and Harold Friedman, treasurer. Edwin Rosenberg was re-elected chairman of the National Council and Daniel G. Ross, vice-chairman of the National Council. The following were newly elected to membership on the board; Max Alperin, Providence; Louis Broido, New York; Dr. Irving L. Greenberg, Atlanta; and Richard M. Levin, Kansas City, Mo.

Recommended from JTA