Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

J. D. B. News Letter

September 19, 1929
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Dedication of the B’nai B’rith-I. Rude Community Building took place during the four-day Tri-State convention of the I. O. B. B. being held here now.

Benjamin F. Stapleton, mayor of Denver, and H. P. Burke, justice of the Supreme Court of Colorado, addressed the gathering. Alfred M. Cohen of Cincinnati, president of the Constitution Grand Lodge, gave the principal address. Others on the program were Samuel Sievers, St. Louis; I. Rude, A. B. Hirschfeld, A. B. Cowen, and Maurice Spiegleman, local president, all of Denver; Rabbi C. E. H. Kauvar of this city and Rabbi Moise Bergman, of Pueblo.

The Community Building was purchased as the climax of a 25-year program for such an end, and through the aid of I. Rude for whom it is named.

The sessions will be concluded with the dedication ball of the Denver Lodge No. 171, I.O.B.B. Wednesday night at the Community Building.

At the annual meeting of the Jewish Consumptives’ Relief Society this week, Dr. Philip Hillkowitz was reelected president; H. J. Schwartz was made vice-president; Dr. L. I. Miller, secretary; Louis Stern, treasurer; I. Rude, second vice-president; Joseph Durst, New York City, third vice-president.

Recommended from JTA