Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Jewish Communal Activities

June 3, 1927
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

New buildings in New York and Chicago to cost about $1,500,000 were approved at the triennial convention of the Independent Order, Free Sons of Israel, at the Royal Palace Hotel, Atlantic City, N. J. The New York headquarters will be near Seventy-second Street and Broadway. Construction work in both cities will start this Fall.

Samuel Sturtz of New York, was elected Grand Master. Other officers chosen were: Dr. I. L. Feinherg of New York, First Deputy Grand Master; Sol Kahn, Chicago, Second Deputy Grand Master; Dr. D. H. M. Weynberg, Brooklyn, Third Deputy; Henry J. Hyman, New York, Grand Secretary; Emil Tausig, New York, Grand Treasurer, and Amold Gross, New York, Controller.

The following were elected to the Executive Board: Julius Greenbaum, Chicago; Bogumil Laski, Philip Goodheart, Henry Kramer, Henry Lion, Maurice Fleishman, and M. B. Blumeathal, all of New York.

The Hebrew Union College for Teachers held its third annual commencement exercises Wednesday night in Temple Emanu-El, Fifth Avenue and Forty-third Street, New York. Certificates of graduation were awarded to twenty-nine men and women who have completed a two-year course of training for Sunday school teaching.

Dr. Julian Morgenstern, president of the Hebrew Union College; Dr. Samuel Schulman, chairman of the joint governing committee, and A. N. Franzblau, principal, delivered addresses. The graduates were: Ruth Bronstein, Aaron Cohen, Dorothy Davis, Nathan Dorison, Pearl Fischgrund, Louise Frank, Helen G. Friedman, Estelle Goldman, Sidney Kalenson, Gwendolyn Kaplan, Pauline Keizerstein, Rosalind Kohu, Maurice Kraus, Grace A. Levinson, Ruth Moskowitz, Gertrude Pollak, Leah Reiss, Florence Salzman, Carol Selig, Rose Schreiner, Etta Schwitz, Babette R. Steinberg, Charlotte Steinhauze, Esther Steinhauze, Clara Vogel, Harry Zelman, and Rose Zuckerman.

Prizes were awarded as follows: The Heineman Vogelstein Memorial Prize, donated by Ben Altheimer, to Clara Vogel: the Isaac Mayer Wise Memorial Prize, donated by Ludwig Vogelstein, to Nathan Dorison and Florence Salzman, with honorable mention for Grace A. Levinson, and the New York Federation of Temple Sisterhoods Prize for first year proficiency, to Pearl Maxwell, and honorable mention for Sara Storm.

Recommended from JTA