Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Jewish Communities in West Germany Reach Agreement with J. R. S. O.

December 17, 1959
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The completion of an overall agreement with the Jewish communities in the former U.S. Zone of Germany was announced here today by the Jewish Restitution Successor Organization (JRSO) at its annual meeting held under the chairmanship of Monroe Goldwater.

The agreement calls for the establishment of a trust fund for the benefit of the communal and welfare needs of the Jewish communities in the former U. S. Zone. The JRSO will make payments to the fund from moneys received by it in settlement of indemnification and restitution claims for damage to former Jewish communal property. Dr. Ernst Katzenstein, director of the JRSO in Germany, reported to the meeting on the status of negotiations on certain categories of important claims pending with the German Federal Government and a number of state governments.

Dr. Israel Goldstein, who was elected president of the JRSO for 1959-60, expressed gratification that the agreement with the Jewish communities was reached in a friendly and amicable manner, following extended negotiations. Other officers elected included: Monroe Goldwater, chairman of the executive committee; Jacob Blaustein, Dr. Nahum Goldmann, Dr. Nehemiah Robinson, Hermann Simon and Edward M.M. Warburg, vice-presidents; David Glickman and Shad Polier, co-treasurers, and Saul Kagan, secretary.

The JRSO was formed in 1947 by a group of leading Jewish organizations in the United States, Great Britain, France and Germany to press claims for heirless Jewish assets confiscated by the Nazis. To date it has successfully settled the overwhelming bulk or these claims within the former U.S. Zone of Germany and Berlin.

Recommended from JTA