Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Jewish Theological Seminary Honors President of Columbia

October 6, 1953
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Paul G. Hoffman, former head of the Economic Corporation Administration and chairman of the board of the Studebaker Corporation, and Grayson L. Kirk, president of Columbia University, yesterday received honorary degrees of Doctor of Laws at a convocation marking the opening of the 67th academic year of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America.

The Seminary also awarded honorary degrees of Doctor of Divinity to Rabbi Herman M. Cohen of St. Paul, Rabbi Max D. Davidson of Perth Amboy, N.J., and Rabbi Alter F. Landesman, executive director of the Hebrew Education Society of Brooklyn. Mr. Hoffman, past president of the Ford Foundation, delivered the major address.

Recommended from JTA