Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Last Two Embassies, Guatemala and Dominican Republic, Leave Jerusalem

September 8, 1980
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Jerusalem is now entirely without foreign embassies following the announcement over the weekend that the last two remaining embassies in the city, those of Guatemala and the Dominican Republic, are to move to the Tel Aviv area. In all, following the Jerusalem law, 13 embassies have moved from the capital: 11 Latin Americans, Holland and Haiti.

The Foreign Ministry here said it could only restate its view that the moves represented a surrender to Arab oil pressure. Indeed, several of the Latin American countries involved, as well as Holland, have candidly admitted that this is the case.

There was no word from the Dominican Ambassador, Jose Villanueva, who at one stage told reporters he would rather resign than to be the person to move the embassy, Villanueva is the dean of the diplomatic corps, having been in Jerusalem for nearly a decade.

Recommended from JTA