Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Life of North American Jewry in Review

July 17, 1934
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

With every section of the country represented, the Graduate Rabbinical School and the Teachers’ Institute divisions of the Hebrew Union College Summer School opened here. The ninth annual summer school semester, which began last Monday, continues through August 17.

The Graduate Rabbinical School enables rabbis to continue their studies through class instruction under professional guidance. It also aims to aid those who wish to prepare themselves in securing a Doctor of Divinity degree.


The Teachers’ Institute offers courses of instruction for those who are preparing to teach in the reform Jewish religious schools and for those who wish to increase their knowledge and efficiency for the Jewish religious education work in which they may now be engaged. The National Federation of Temple Sisterhoods has offered seven scholarships for the Teachers’ Institute.

Supervising the Summer School is Professor Abraham N. Franzblau who is acting-director. The faculty consists of the following members: Dr. Henry Englander, Professor Samuel S. Cohon, Dr. Jacob R. Marcus, and Professor Franzblau.

The names of the students in the Graduate School follows:

Dr. Moses Bailey, Professor, Hartford Theological Seminary, Hartford, Conn.; Rabbi Ralph H. Blumenthal, Cincinnati, O.; Rabbi J. Morton Cohn, Detroit, Mich.; Rabbi Morris W. Graff, Paducah, Ky.; Rabbi Milton L. Grafman, Lexington, Ky.; Rabbi Avery J. Grossfield, New Castle, Pa.; Rabbi Joseph H. Gumbiner, Selma, Ala.; Rabbi Arthur Lebowitz, Olean, N. Y.; Rabbi Meyer Lovitt, Jackson. Miss.; Rabbi Norbert L. Rosenthal, Knoxville, Tenn.; Rabbi Rudolph M. Rosenthal, Cleveland, O.; Rabbi Jacob K. Shankman, Troy, N. Y.; Rabbi David Sherman, Dorchester, Mass.; Rabbi Albert M. Shulman, South Bend, Ind.; Rabbi Abraham Shusterman, Athens, Ga.; Rabbi Meyer H. Simon, Lafayette, Ind.; Rabbi David H. Wice, Omaha, Nebr., and Rabbi Sidney Wolf, Corpus Christi, Texas.

Attending the Teachers’ Institute are:

Sara Borinsky, Princeton, W. Va.; Amy L. Diamond, Cincinnati, O.; Gusta Drescher, Port Huron, Mich.; Rose Edelson, Oshkosh, Wisc.; Beulah L. Gossin, Hornell, N. Y.; Samuel Green, Ambridge, Pa.; Pauline L. Hirsch, Pittsburgh, Pa.; Mildred Levey, Indianapolis, Ind.; Miriam Okrent, Cincinnati, O.; Sara M. Polinsky, Cincinnati, O.; Dorothy Jane Segal, Appleton, Wisc.; Clara Singer, Cincinnati, O.; Miriam J. Stone, Etna, Pa.; Ida Tenenbaum, Omaha, Nebr.; Resel Turitz, Rock Island, Ill.; Sally P. Wolf, Corpus Christi, Tex.; Miriam G. Wolfson, Pittsburgh, Pa., and Ethel Jane Zwick, West Frankfort, Ill.

Recommended from JTA