Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

News Brief

June 12, 1981
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Meyer Levin, the 75-year-old writer who calls himself “the last angry author” was the first Jewish writer to receive the arts award in the new annual prizes of the Jewish Academy of Arts and Science at the 55th annual convocation of the academy here. The science winner is Dr. Rosalyn S. Yalow, Nobel Prize laureate in medicine in 1977. The $1,000 awards were contributed by Joseph Handleman of Detroit. Levin detailed current examples of what he considered plagiarism, falsification and suppression.

Recommended from JTA