Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Mrs. Roosevelt, Sen. Taft to Serve As Honorary Chairmen of U.J.A. Christian Group

March 6, 1950
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Formation of a National Christian Committee of the United Jewish Appeal with Mrs. Franklin D. Roosevelt and Senator Robert A. Taft as honorary chairmen and W. Averell Harriman, Summer Welles, Jesse Jones and Eric Johnston serving as associate chairmen, was announced today by Rep. Franklin D. Roosevelt, Jr., national chairman of the Christian Committee.

Among those associated in the work of the Christian Committee of the United Jewish Appeal will be Winthrop W. Aldrich, chairman of the Board of the Chase National Bank; Gen. Lucius D. Clay, former Commander of U.S. Armed Forces in Germany; Secretary of Agriculture Charles F. Brannan; Secretary of Interior Oscar Chapman; Secretary of Labor Maurice J. Tobin; and Marshall Field, business leader and newspaper publisher. An initial Committee of One Hundred, comprising prominent government, business, labor and civic leaders, has been organized to rally the support of Americans of all faiths behind the immigration, settlement and rehabilitation programs of the U.J.A., Rep. Roosevelt said.

Recommended from JTA