Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Nazi Victims in 67 Countries Entitled to Claim German Indemnification

September 11, 1956
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Nazi victims entitled to payments under current indemnification legislation may submit claims if they are residents of practically any country in the world except the Soviet satellites in Europe and Asia according to a clarification just issued by the Federal Government.

Under the amendment to the Federal Indemnification Law for individual Nazi victims, claims are accepted only from residents of states maintaining diplomatic relations with the Federal Republic. However, Israel and Finland have been specifically designated as eligible, in spite of the two countries lack of formal diplomatic relations with Bonn.

In addition, the official Bonn announcement list 65 states with whom diplomatic relations currently exist. These are: Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Burma, Canada, Ceylon, Chile, Columbia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Eire, Ethiopia, France, Greece, Great Britain, Haiti, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the Philippines, Portugal, Salvador, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, the Soviet Union, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Thailand, Turkey, Uruguay, U. S. A., the Vatican, Venezuela, Yemen and Yugoslavia.

Recommended from JTA