Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Palestine Parliament Will Not Harm the Jewish Interests Arab Leader Says

July 27, 1928
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

(Jewish Telegraphic Agency)

Parliamentary government in Palestine will not be harmful to the interests of Palestine Jewry, Musa Kazim Pasha, leader of the anti-Zionist Arab Executive, declared in an interview with the correspondent of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency today.

Commenting upon the memorandum submitted by the Arab Executive to the High Commissioner Lord Plumer in which the demand for a representative government in Palestine was again voiced, the anti-Zionist Arab leader asserted that “the Jews have no reason to fear a parliamentary government” because the British power is here and we expressly declared in our memorandum that we shall not infringe upon Great Britain’s international undertakings, which means also the Mandate. We shall treat the Jews on an equal footing if they go with us. We shall be their friends. However, immigration to Palestine should be allowed only in accordance with the country’s economic capacity. We oppose the admission of such numbers as eight to ten thousand immigrants yearly.” he declared.

When asked what will the Palestine Arabs do if the demand for a Parliament is rejected, Musa Kazim stated, “We shall continue peacefully demanding it. We shall not use dynamite. When the new High Commissioner Sir John Robert Chancellor arrives, we shall resume negotiations.”


The continued cooperation of the National Council of Jewish Women, together with eight other national women’s organizations, in the interest of the Multilateral Treaty renouncing war as an instrument of national policy, has been announced by Mrs. Arthur Brin of Minneapolis, National Chairman of its Department of Peace.

The following additional women of the National Council of Jewish Women have been named to serve on the State Committees for this united campaign in their respective states: for Arizona, Mrs. Harry Effron of Phoenix; for Oregon, Miss Edna Jacobs of Portland; for Kansas, Mrs. Simon Galitsky of Topeka; for Vermnt, Mrs. S. Cannon of Burlington; Mrs. Leonard Haas of Atlanta, joint state representative for Georgia; Mrs. Oscar Feldscher of Rock Springs, for Wyoming; and Mrs Sadio Mayer of Omaha, for Nebraska.

Recommended from JTA