Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Pincus Re-elected Chairman of WZO Executive; Halpern, Rothberg Leave

January 31, 1972
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Louis Pincus was re-elected chairman of the World Zionist Organization Executive at the conclusion of the 28th WZCongress. The Confederation of General Zionists gained a third seat on the Executive. The Labor Zionists and Mizrachi also claimed victories in that each gained an additional member on the Executive. New and re-elected members of the current Executive are, in addition to Pincus, the following:

Mordechai Bar-On, Haim Finklestein, Raanan Weitz and Prof. Allen Pollock all Labor; Rabbi Mordechai Kirshblum, Moshe Krone and Rabbi Emanuel Rackman, all Mizrachi; Mrs., Charlotte Jacobson, Ezra Shapiro and Kalman Sultanik, all Confederation; Jacques Torczyner and Aryeh L. Dulzin, both World Union of General Zionists; Yosef Klarman, Herut; Avraham Shenker, Mapam; Andre Narbon, representing the Sephardim; Mrs. Raya Jaglom, WIZO; Rabbi Arthur Hertzberg, representing Conservative Judaism; Rabbi Richard Hirsch, representing Reform Judaism.

Others elected included: Rabbi Israel Miller, president of the American Zionist Federation, and Moshe Rivlin, Director General of the Jewish Agency, newly designated as the one associate member. All the scats but the last were elected. Torczyner replaces the retired Dr. Emanuel Neumann; Rabbi Hirsch replaces Rabbi Dr. Leon Feuer. Also departing from the American Executive are Ben Halpern and Sam Rothberg.

The Confederation’s “gain” is Sultanik’s seat. Labor’s “gain” is Pollock; Labor had not previously been represented on the American Executive, but Halpern was Labor-inclined. Mizrachi’s “gain” is Rabbi Rackman, its first American representative, but he has been serving on the Executive representing American Orthodoxy, not specifically Mizrachi. Pincus was unopposed as chairman. He was voted, in addition, the powers of president, though not the title.

Recommended from JTA