Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Poland to Grant Language Rights to Minorities, Except Jews


The minority groups living in the eastern province of the Polish Republic will shortly have permission to use their own languages in communicating with the Polish Government, according to a bill, which is now being prepared by the Polish Ministry of the Interior.

The bill provides for the use of the following languages: Ukrainian, White Russian, Russian and Lithuanian. No mention is made of Yiddish, although a considerable portion of the population in these provinces speak and write exclusively in Yiddish.

Recommended from JTA