Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Temple Mishkan Tefilah to Mark 75th Year

January 22, 1933
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The Temple Mishkan Tefilah of Roxbury is launching its 75th jubilee with its first event, a public installation of newly-elected officers. The year 1933 marks the 75th year of growth for the Temple, which is ranked among the leading conservative congregations in New England. The year also marks the 25th anniversary of Rabbi H. H. Rubenovitz as spiritual leader of the Temple; 10th anniversary of Cantor I. G. Glickstein as cantor of the Temple, and the 10th anniversary of the new buildings. It is also ten years since Mishkan Tefilah held its last public installation of officers.

This first celebration will take place on Sunday, January 29, with installation exercises in the Temple preceding the dinner. Rabbi Rubenovitz will install the officers. The guest speaker of the evening will be Judge William M. Lewis of Philadelphia.

The 75th year will also see at the helm of the Congregation a new president, the Hon. Elihu D. Stone, who succeeds A. A. Bloom, now chairman of the Board of Directors. He has guided the destinies of the New England Zionist Region as its president for several years.

Heading the installation committee is Bernard W. Marcus as chairman. The other officers to be installed are: first vice-president, Samuel J. Bernstein; second vice-president, Max Starr; secretary, B. L. Kolovson; and treasurer, Harry Ginsburg.

Newly elected officers of Seattle Lodge No. 503 of the B’nai Brith, Seattle’s largest Jewish organization, were installed at a public ceremony. Irving I. Levitin will head the coming year’s activities. Ben A. Maslan, young assistant King County Prosecuting Attorney, is Vice-President. Irving C. Lewis, veteran secretary, was re-elected. H. I. Adler is Treasurer; Leo A. Meltzer, Retiring President, Monitor; Dr. Lewis D. Kracower, Assistant Monitor; Albert H. Solomon, Warden; and Judge Alex Caplan, Outer Guard. Otto S. Grunbaum, Leo Weisfeld, and Stanley Blumenthal are trustees.

Recommended from JTA