Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Temple Sholom’s $1,750,000 Edifice Dedicated in Chicago

April 7, 1930
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

More than three years of construction activity and the expenditure of $1,750,000 will culminate Monday at the end of the formal three-day dedication of the new Temple Sholom, Chicago’s largest, best equipped and most magnificent synagogue. The formal opening of this magnificent structure marks the 63rd anniversary of Temple Sholom, the pioneer Jewish congregation of the north side, founded in 1867 as the North Chicago Hebrew Congregation.

Formal presentation of the building to the congregation by W. B. Frankenstein and its acceptance on the part of the congregation by president Benjamin M. Engelhard, president, Friday evening, marked the opening of the three-day dedicatory program.

Dedicatory prayers were offered by Dr. Gerson B. Levi and Rev. Dr. Joseph Stolz both of The Temple and were followed by addresses by Rev. Dr. Samuel Hirschberg of Temple Emanuel B’ne Jeshurun of Milwaukee, Wis., and Rev. Dr. Louis Wolsey of Philadelphia. On Saturday morning, prayers were offered by Rev. Dr. Jacob Singer, Rev. Dr. Felix Mendelsohn, Rev. Dr. G. George Fox and Rev. Dr. Mayer Lipman. Addresses will be delivered by Dr. Louis Mann of Sinai Temple and Rev. Dr. Solomon B. Freehof of Temple K.A.M.

Sunday saw the close of the formal dedication ceremonies with an address by Rev. Dr. Morris Feuerlicht of Indianapolis. Prayers were offered by Dr. Julian Gusfield and Samuel Schwartz. Greetings from the Chicago Rabbinical Association were delivered by Rev. Dr. Felix A. Levy of Temple Emanuel.

The new Temple Sholom and Frankenstein Memorial Community Center Building have been characterized as an amazing contribution to Chicago’s religious and civic welfare. Since its organization in 1867, the congregation saw its synagogue destroyed in the Chicago fire and has occupied four other houses of worship prior to building its fifth and last one.

During the 63 years of its existence, the congregation has the unique record of having but three rabbis: Drs. A. Ollendorf, Aaron Norden and the present incumbent of the office, Abram Hirschberg, who has served for 32 years. In addition to President Engelhard, William B. Frankenstein and David M. Weber are vice-presidents of the congregation; Elie Brandt, financial secretary; Reuben F. Lowenstein, secretary and Dr. Max Woldenberg, treasurer.

If You Are Pleased with the “Jewish Daily Bulletin” Tell Your Friends to Subscribe.

Recommended from JTA