Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

News Brief

September 26, 1972
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Two American scientists have been selected as the first winners of the Harvey Prize of the American Society for Technion-Israel Institute of Technology. Each prize carries a cash award of $35,000. The winners, announced by Laurence A. Tisch, president of the American Technion Society, were Dr. William J. Kolff of the University of Utah College of Medicine, for his pioneering work in the development of artificial organs, and Dr. Claude E. Shannon of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for his contributions to science and technology. The prizes bear the name of Leo M. Harvey of Los Angeles who was born in Vilna 86 years ago and came to the US at the age of 20. The Harvey Prize Fund was established by a gift of $1 million from the Lena P. Harvey Foundation in L.A. to the American Technion Society in 1971. The award ceremony will be Oct. 22 at the home of Israel’s President Zalman Shazar.

Recommended from JTA