Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

UJA Honors French Jewish Leader

June 5, 1985
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Michel Topiol, a leader of French Jewry, will be the recipient of this year’s Israel Goldstein Prize for “outstanding personal work and contribution” to the United Jewish Appeal, it was announced here today. The award will be presented to the 75 year-old Jewish leader by President Chaim Herzog of Israel in ceremonies in Jerusalem on June 23.

Topiol is president of the French UJA, chairman of the French branch of the Jewish Agency and a veteran leader of the Jewish community in France. He is also a member of the Board of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency.

The prize was named in honor of Dr. Israel Goldstein, a prominent American Zionist leader who was rabbi of Congregation Bnai Jeshurun in New York before his retirement from the pulpit. Goldstein presently lives in Jerusalem.

It was first awarded in 1980 to mark the 60th anniversary of the Keren Hayesod of which Goldstein was chairman for many years. The recipients to date have been Max Fisher of Detroit, Phil Granovsky of Canada, Edward Sieff of Britain and Fred Hall of Australia.

Recommended from JTA