Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Warburg and Weizmann Express Satisfaction with Results of Administrative Committee Meeting; Next Ses

March 30, 1930
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Gratification that it was possible to work without dissension and with mutual understanding and the hope that there will be perfect peace and harmony among all sections of population in Palestine was expressed here today by Felix M. Warburg, chairman of the Administrative Committee of the Jewish Agency, at the conclusion of the Committee’s session.

Dr. Chaim Weizmann, president of the Agency, said that the meeting had clarified the position of the Agency and had removed many obstacles that had been in the way. Speaking in the name of all the members of the Administrative Committee, Dr. Weizmann expressed his thanks for the manner in which Mr. Warburg had conducted the proceedings and for the accommodating spirit which he had manifested throughout the deliberations.

Saying that the members of the Committee were parting at “a very difficult moment,” Dr. Weizmann declared himself convinced that “we definitely know where we stand. We continue with renewed vigor. The history of our people was a series of intervals between crises, and the men assembled here are accustomed to crises and the more crises we experience the stronger we emerge from the struggle.” Just before the session closed Dr. Weizmann suggested Lord Melchett as chairman of the Agency’s Council in the place left vacant by the late Louis Marshall and Dr. Cyrus Adler as joint chairman.

Dr. Adler reported on the work of the political commission, dealing at some length with the problem of the Wailing Wall. Mr. Warburg, after paying a tribute to the late Louis Topkis, referred to the nomination of the non-Zionist members of the Executive and said that Julius Simon could accept the position only after his return to the United States when he would know if he could adequately arrange his private affairs.

Two standing sub-committees, one on political and the other on financial affairs, were appointed in addition to six advisory committees on agriculture, colonization, industry, immigration, labor and education, health and social welfare. The functions of the committees were defined.


The political sub-committee consists of Lord Melchett, chairman; Dr. Cyrus Adler, vice-chairman; d’Avigdor Goldsmid, Isaac Ben Zwi, Robert Bollak, Baron Felix de Menassce, Major Nathan, James Rosenberg, Dr. Oscar Wasserman, Dr. Chaim Arlasoroff, Ben Gurion, Kurt Blumenfeld, Leo Motzkin, M. M. Ushishkin, H. Farbstein, Berthold Feiwel and Nahum Goldmann.

The sub-committee on finance consists of Dr. Oscar Wasserman, chairman; vice-chairmen, Bernard Kahn and Simon Marks; A. Barth, Georg Halpern, Leon Levite, David Remez, Salman Schocken, Max Soloweitschik, Nahum Twersky, Max von Anhauch, d’Avigdor Goldsmid, Bruno Asch, Boris Eitingon, Bernard Flexner and Herbert H. Lehman.


In recognition of the importance of the work of Jewish women for Palestine a suggestion was made that the Women’s International Zionist Organization and Hadassah be requested to come to an understanding regarding their respective spheres of work and to submit through the Executive a memorandum to the next meeting of the Administrative Committee which will take place late this Summer in time to fix a budget for the year 5691. All recommendations of the organization committee were adopted.


The establishment of an information service to be concentrated in the hands of the London Executive and a request that the London Executive investigate the question of issuing an official organ of the Agency were further proposals offered on behalf of the organization commission by Mr. Soloweitschik. The president of the Agency and the chairman of the Administrative Committee are to be ex-officio members of all sub and advisory committees.

Recommended from JTA