Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Warburg Reelected Chairman of J.d.c.; Baerwald, Mrs. Warburg Are Honorary Chairmen

December 21, 1941
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Edward M. M. Warburg was reelected chairman of the Joint Distribution Committee today at the 27th annual meeting of the organization. Mrs. Felix M. Warburg and Paul Baerwald were also chosen to serve another term as honorary chairmen.

James N. Rosenberg of New York was continued as Honorary Chairman of the Executive Committee and James H. Becker of Chicago as Chairman of the National Council. The nine Vice-Chairmen were likewise re-elected; George Backer, David M. Bressler, Alfred Jaretzki, Jr., Alexander Kahn, Governor Herbert H. Lehman, Harold F. Linder, Solomon Lowenstein and Rabbi Jonah B. Wise, all of New York; William Rosenwald of Greenwich, Conn., William J. Shroder of Cincinnati and M. C. Sloss of San Francisco. I. Edwin Goldwasser was re-elected Treasurer. Alexander A. Landesco of New York was elected as Treasurer to succeed Marco F. Hellman.

Other officers who will continue in their posts during the coming year are Albert H. Lieberman of Philadelphia, Vice-Chairman of the National Council, Abner Bregman of New York, Associate Treasurer; Joseph C. Hyman of New York, Executive Vice-Chairman; Evelyn M. Morrissey of New York, Assistant Treasurer; Mrs. H. B. L. Goldstein of New York, Comptroller, Moses A. Leavitt of New York, Secretary; and Isidor Coons of New York, Director of Fund Raising.

Six new members were added to the J. D. C. Board do Directors; Leslie L. Jacobs of Dallas, Texas; Jerome H. Kohn, Hartford, Connecticut; Al Paul Lefton of Philadelphia; and Louis Broido of New York, were named for terms expiring April l, 1945. Joel Gross of Newark, New Jersey and Morris W. Haft of New York were elected to the Board for terms expiring April 1, 1944.

Recommended from JTA