Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Yiddish Writers Quit Culture Organization in Protest on Russo-german Pact

August 30, 1939
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

A number of prominent writers have resigned from the “ICUF,” Yiddish cultural organization, declaring they did not wish to be associated with Communists who supported the Russo-German non-aggression pact. Those resigning include Dr. Chaim Zhitlowsky, honorary president; H. Leivick, Ben-Zion Goldberg, Peretz Hirschibein and Dr. A. Mukdoni.

Last week, Moshe Nadir resigned as staff writer of Die Freiheit, Yiddish Communist daily, in protest against the pact.

Recommended from JTA