New Haven Organizes for Its U. P. A. Drive
Menu JTA Search

New Haven Organizes for Its U. P. A. Drive

Download PDF for this date

(Jewish Daily Bulletin)

The annual meeting of the United Palestine Appeal at Hotel Taft chose Louis M. Sagal to head the 1927 campaign for New Haven’s quota of $45,000. According to the plans, the campaign is to be launched on February 27, at a banquet to be addressed by Dr. Chaim Weizmann, and is to continue for one week.

The meeting was addressed by Dr. Selig Brodetsky of the University of Leeds, England, and was presided over by Hyman Jacobs, chairman of the Southern New England Region, who who also elected chairman of the Executive Committee for New Haven. Israel Gordon was elected treasurer, B. E. Hoffman honorary secretary. The following were chosen vice-presidents of the New Haven committee: Rabbi Leon Spitz, Rabbi S. S. Tedesche, Rabbi Judah Levenberg, Col. Isaac M. Ullman, George Canter, Isaac Kaufman, Judge Jacob Caplan, Simon Persky, Samuel J. Weil and Samuel Rosenbaum. Bane Stock was chairman of the nominations committee.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund