Menu JTA Search

News Brief

Download PDF for this date

Endorse Jewish Agency for Palestine at Sessions (Jewish ##)

The eighteenth annual convention of the Associated Y. M. and Y. W. H. A’s of New England was concluded with the election of George E. Gordon of Chelsea as president.

Among the resolutions adopted was an endorsement of the Jewish Agency. Appreciation was expressed for the assistance rendered in New England by the Jewish Welfare Board. The convention also voted to call a convention of boys and girls clubs in Jewish community centers throughout New England and to take steps toward the establishment of a million dollar Jewish Center and Y building in Boston. The Convention also voted to introduce secretaries in the various districts to assist the New England field secretary of the Jewish Welfare Board.

The speakers who addressed the various sessions included Governor Ralph Brewster of the State of Maine, Dr. Augustus O. Thomas, Commissioner of Education of Maine, Henry F. Merrill, president of the state Y. M. C. A. Albert Hurwitz, retiring president of the Associated Y. M. and Y. W. H. A’s of New England, Dr. Maurice B. Hexter, executive director of the Boston Federated Jewish Charities.

Other officers include: Vice-presidents, Louis M. Sagal, New Haven, Isaac Kibrick, Brockton, Max Kabatznick, West End; Mrs. Jessie Finberg, Providence, Mrs. Eva Olim Goldberg, Boston, Secretary, Arthur Kornstein, Woonsocket, treasurer, Eli A. Cohen, Lynn and Benjamin Rabinowitz, field secretary, Jewish Welfare Board.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund