English Jewry Names Its Representatives to Jewish Agency Council
Menu JTA Search

English Jewry Names Its Representatives to Jewish Agency Council

Download PDF for this date

Seven representatives of British Jewry on the Council of the extended Jewish Agency were elected at Sunday’s meeting of the Board of Jewish Deputies. The number of representatives alloted to Great Britain was increased from six to seven.

Those elected are: O. E. d’Avigdor-Goldsmid, president of the Board of Jewish Deputies; Colonel Charles Waley-Cohen, Miss Nettie Adler, Nathan Laski, Major Nathan, Lord Walter Rothschild, and Sir Meyer Spielman.

In moving the report of the Palestine Committee, which recommended the names of the delegates to be chosen, Nathan Laski stated that the committee had hoped to see Sir Herbert Samuel among Great Britain’s representatives on the Jewish Agency. Sir Herbert has, however, intimated that he could not accept the position, but would mention his reasons at the Zurich sessions. The Jewish Telegraphic Agency correspondent learns that the former High Commissioner of Palestine will attend the sessions of the Jewish Agency, where he will be a speaker.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund