Szold Heads Zionist Administrative Committee; Mack Honorary Chairman, Lipsky Honorary Vice-chairman,
Menu JTA Search

Szold Heads Zionist Administrative Committee; Mack Honorary Chairman, Lipsky Honorary Vice-chairman,

Download PDF for this date

Robert Szold, New York attorney, head of Szold, Perkins and Brandwen, and for some years connected with the Government legal service, was elected chairman of the Administrative Committee of the Zionist Organization of America, at a meeting of the Committee at the organization’s headquarters, 111 Fifth Avenue, on Monday night. This was the first meeting of the coalition committee which was recently elected at the thirty-third annual convention of the Zionist Organization at Cleveland.

Other officers elected were Federal Judge Julian W. Mack, honorary chairman; Louis Lipsky, former president of the Zionist Organization, honorary vice-chairman and Rabbi Abba Hillel Silver, of Cleveland, vice-chairman.

An indication of the intensification of Zionist activity in this country which is being planned by the newly-elected administration is seen in the appointment of a considerable number of committees, whose purpose is to expand the operations of the organization. Considerable interest is attached to the election of Rabbi Stephen S. Wise as chairman of the Committee on Political Affairs, which will determine the American Zionist attitude to Great Britain. The Committee on Public Information, which will be entrusted with acquainting the general public with Zionist aims and achievements in Palestine, is headed by Emanuel Neumann.


The chairmen of the other important committees are as follows: Committee on Relations with the World Zionist Organization and the Jewish Agency, Judge Julian W. Mack, chairman; Committee on Liquidation of Deficit, Dr. Nathan Ratnoff, chairman; Finance Committee, S. J. Rosensohn, chairman; Jewish National Fund Committee, Abraham Goldberg, chairman; Palestine Economic Committee, Israel D. Brodie, chairman; Committee on Gift Funds, Judge William M. Lewis, chairman; Organization Committee, Jacob de Haas, chairman; Committee on Cultural Activities, Rabbi James G. Heller, chairman; Committee on Publications, Abraham Tulin, chairman, and Committee on Hebrew University, Rabbi Abba Hillel Silver, chairman.

It is understood that a number of other committees are still to be ap-

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund