Philadelphia Branch Elects Louis Levinthal
Menu JTA Search

Philadelphia Branch Elects Louis Levinthal

Download PDF for this date

Louis E. Levinthal, former president of the Associated Talmud Torahs of this city, was elected president of the Philadelphia Branch of the United Synagogue of America. Mr. Levinthal succeeded Rabbi Samuel Fredman, whose term of office expired. Jacob C. Gutman and Mrs. Robert S. Ginns were elected vice-presidents, with Herman Rosenberger, treasurer and Rabbi Abraham E. Milgram, secretary.

In his presidential message, Rabbi Fredman reviewed the activities of the local branch during the past year. He stressed the work being done for the Jewish students at the University of Pennsylvania and Temple University, through the Jewish Students Houses located on the campuses.

Dr. Elias Solomon of New York, one of the founders of the United Synagogue, brought greetings from the national organization.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund