Executive Unit Launches A.J.C. Election Drive
Menu JTA Search

Executive Unit Launches A.J.C. Election Drive

Download PDF for this date

The setting up of an executive committee, comprised of representatives of Jewish fraternal, religious, labor and professional organizations here for the purpose of launching an intensive campaign among Jewish organizations to secure their participation in the democratic national elections to the American Jewish Congress, was announced yesterday by Professor Horace M. Kallen, chairman of the elections committee of the American Jewish Congress.

The executive committee was elected at the first meeting of the Committee of One Hundred and Thirty-five, chosen at a conference of 534 organizations in New York, where formal participation in the elections was voted. The election work is to proceed under the direction of the American Jewish Congress.

Carl Sherman, former Attorney General for New York State, was elected chairman of the election committee with the following vice-chairmen: S. Bonchek of the Jewish National Workers Alliance; Mrs. Rose L. Stein of Hadassah; B. Weinberg of the Federation of Polish Jews of America, and William Weiss, president of the Union of Orthodox Congregations of America.

An executive committee of twenty-one was elected comprised of the following:

L. Altman of the Zionist Revisionists; George O. Arkin of the Independent Order Brith Abraham; Hyman Bloom of the Hebrew Typographical Union; Harold Budner of the Independent Order Brith Sholom; Dr. Maurice S. Calman of the Harlem Dental Society; Isidore Epstein of the Mizrachi Youth; P. Gingold of the Jewish National Workers Alliance; Elias Ginsburg of the Zionist Revisionists; Daniel Goldstein of the Jewish Postal Workers; Mrs. Florence C. Harris of Young Israel; J. L. Horowitz of Congregation Beth Sholom; Michael B. Kaplanof of the Lodzer True Brothers; Paul O. Kramer of the Wyskover Benevolent Association; H. Lipner of the Plotzker Young Men’s Association; Morris Margulies of the Zionist Organization of America; Dr. A. H. Rosenzweig of the East Side Chapter of the American Jewish Congress; D. Salpeter of Congregation Tefereth Israel; H. Schmerler of Branch 70 of the Workmen’s Circle; Mendel Shapiro of Congregation Anshe Niaditz; Leo Wolfson of the United Rumanian Jews of America, and Sophie Yudin of the Pioneer Women’s Organization.

The executive committee will immediately set into motion the various activities of the entire committee, the election representative of the entire conference which constituted itself as a permanent body at the previous meeting.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund