Boycott Groups Hold Reception for Untermyer
Menu JTA Search

Boycott Groups Hold Reception for Untermyer

Download PDF for this date

Samuel Untermyer, newly-elected president of the World Non-Sectarian Anti-Nazi Council to Champion Human Rights, and other members of the American delegation to the international boycott conference recently concluded in London, will be welcomed back to America tomorrow evening at eight at a reception at the Hotel Edison. The meeting has been arranged by the Non-Sectarian Anti-Nazi League to Champion Human Rights and will be attended by the entire membership of the organization as well as by members of cooperating groups and organizations partaking in the boycott activities sponsored by the League.

George Gordon Battle, chairman of the special reception committee, will serve as chairman of the evening. Addresses will be delivered by Mr. Untermyer, Dr. Paul Hutchinson, editor of the Christian Century, Richard J. Beamish, former secretary of Pennsylvania, and Mrs. Mark Harris, members of the returning delegation, and by James W. Gerard, Matthew Woll and Dr. Joseph Tenenbaum, members of the reception committee.

The reception committee, headed by Mr. Battle, includes James M. Beck, James W. Gerard, Bainbridge Colby, Max Silverstein, Mrs. Frederick Lewisohn, Col. Theodore Roosevelt, Matthew Woll, Mrs. Mary Fitzpatrick, B. Charney Vladeck, Simon M. Goldstein, Joseph P. Ryan, Mrs. Julius Ferber, Carl Sherman, Mrs. Louis Myers, Dr. Joseph Tenenbaum, Louis Lipsky, Oswald Garrison Villard, Dr. A. Coralnik, Frank P. Walsh, Miss Louise Slade, Dr. B. Dubovsky, Louis Myers, J. George Fredman, M. Maldwin Fertig, Jacob Fishman, Arthur S. Tompkins and others.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund