Rabbi Wise Heads Jewish Delegations Committee
Menu JTA Search

Rabbi Wise Heads Jewish Delegations Committee

Download PDF for this date

World leadership of the fight for Jewish rights was bestowed upon Rabbi Stephen S. Wise of New York, at the conference here of the Committee of Jewish Delegations which elected him world president.

Representatives from eighteen countries participated in the conference, which considered the situation of Jews in the various countries, and adopted measures for fighting for Jewish rights.

The conference considered the convocation of a world Jewish congress to take up the problems of Jews all over the world.

In addition to Rabbi Wise, the conference elected a presidium of four consisting of Dr. Nahum Goldmann, former president of the Committee, Dr. Isaac Naiditch, A. Pollock and Myer Froykin, all of Paris.

A world executive of fifteen was also elected, including Judge Julian W. Mack, Louis Lipsky, Abraham Goldberg, and Joshua L. Goldberg of New York.

The Committee of Jewish Delegations was organized in 1919, to represent Jews at the peace conferences after the World War. Judge Mack and the late Louis Marshall, were among the many world renowned Jewish notables who have served as president of the Committee. The Committee’s seat is in Paris.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund