4 Members of Royal Commission Named; Peel Chairman
Menu JTA Search

4 Members of Royal Commission Named; Peel Chairman

With the identities of four members of the Royal Commission that will investigate the Palestine disorders already known, speculation today revolved on the name of the fifth member of the body.

It is generally believed that either Sir Edgar Bonham-Carter or a member of the Asquith family, both of whom have seen long service in the Near East, will be named.

Formal announcement of the commission’s composition is expected to be made within the next ten days.

Meanwhile there has as yet been no official confirmation of the names of the four already appointed, and there is expected to be none forthcoming until Colonial Secretary William Ormsby-Gore’s formal announcement.

The members appointed are: Viscount Peel, former Secretary for India, chairman; Field Marshal Sir William Birdwood, who led the Anzacs at Gallipoli; Sir Horace Rumbold, noted diplomat who speaks Arabic and has been Ambassador to Berlin, Madrid and Constantinople, and Professor Reginald Coupland, instructor in Colonial history at Oxford.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund