National Coordinating Council Created by B’nai B’rith Women
Menu JTA Search

National Coordinating Council Created by B’nai B’rith Women

Download PDF for this date

A new national Jewish women’s organization came into being when representatives of the six women’s grand lodges of B’nai B’rith concluded a two-day conference by creating the Women’s Supreme Council of B’nai B’rith as a national coordinating body for the women’s grand lodges and through them for the more then 400 senior and junior B’nai B’rith auxiliaries, which have over 40,000 members in all parts of the country.

Mrs. Lenore D. Underwood, of San Francisco, a former president of Women’s Grand’s Lodge No. 4, was elected president. Other officers chosen are: Mrs. Maurice Turner, Chicago; Mrs. Pat Roth, St. Louis, and Mrs. Frances Winer, Brighton, Mass., vice-presidents; Mrs. Rae Morrison, Philadelphia, secretary, and Mrs. Lawrence Koenigsberger, Washington, treasurer.

Henry Monsky, president of B’nai B’rith, speaking to the women by long distance telephone from Omaha, Nebraska, hailed the establishment of the Women’s Supreme Council as “the most momentous event in the 31-year history of the women of B’nai B’rith.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund