Mrs Epstein Re-elected Hadassah President; Boston Convention Concludes
Menu JTA Search

Mrs Epstein Re-elected Hadassah President; Boston Convention Concludes

Download PDF for this date

Mrs. Moses P. Epstein was today re-elected president of Hadassah for her fourth term at the closing session of the organization’s 32nd annual convention.

In a brief address, Mrs. Epstein called on the membership of Hadassah to prepare “for a crucial year in Jewish history, one that will see tightening tensions and shortening lines of struggle on the Zionist scene and elsewhere, requiring a continued fight to win the peace.” She added that “like David of Old we cannot be intimidated by the Goliath of power politics.”

As its last action, the convention approved a budget of $120,000 for the activities of the Hadassah Youth Commission, bringing the total sum appropriated for Palestine projects to $4,070,000.

Other officers elected were Honorary Vice-President: Mrs. Edward Jacobs of New York. Vice-Presidents: Mrs. David B. Greenberg, Mrs. Benjamin Gottesman, both of New York; Mrs. Jack A. Goodman of Indianapolis; Mrs. Louis T. Rothenberg of Piedmont, Calif. The last three are newcomers to the post. Treasurer: Mrs. Abraham Tulin of New York, Secretary: Mrs. Elliot F. Glassberg of New Rochelle. Recording Secretary: Mrs. Emanuel Halpern of New York.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund