All Jewish Members of U.S. Congress Re-elected; New Jewish Congressman Wins Seat
Menu JTA Search

All Jewish Members of U.S. Congress Re-elected; New Jewish Congressman Wins Seat

Download PDF for this date

All Jewish members of the U.S. Congress have managed to retain their seats and at least one Jew, Sidney A. Fine, a New York Democrat, won a seat, as a result of the nationwide elections held yesterday, it became known here today. In a number of instances in various states, Jewish candidates aspiring for membership in Congress were defeated.

Jews who have held their seats include Senator Herbert H. Lehman, and Representatives Arthur G. Klein, Abraham Multer, Emanuel Celler, Isidore Dolliger, Louis B. Heller, and Jacob K. Javits, all of New York. Adolph J. Sabath, aged dean of the House and ohairman of the Rules Committee, was re-elected by Illinois voters, as was Sidney R. Yates, of Chicago. Pennsylvania voters returned Earl Chudoff, of Philadelphia, and A.A. Ribicoff, of Conrecticut, was re-elected. All Jewish members are Democrats with the exception of Republican-Liberal Javits.

Members of Congress who have displayed anti-Jewish sentiments have been returned for another term, including Sen. Pat McCarran (D.-Nev.), Representatives John Rankin (D.-Mies), Ed Gossett (D.-Texas), Clare Hoffman (R.-Mich.), Lawrence H. Smith, (R.-Wis.). In Missouri, however, Sen. Forrest C. Donnell, a Republican who made unfavorable remarks during Senate consideration of the displaced persons issue, was defeated by Thomas C. Hennings, Jr., a Democrat.

The defeat in the Senate reace of Senate Majority Leader Scott Lucas, of Illinois, Sen. Millard Tydings (D.-Md.), and Rep. Helen Gahagan Douglas, among others, has been noted in Zionist quarters and by Jewish organizations. These Democrats supported the Zionist cause, liberalization of DP legislation, and other legislation of interest to Jews. Everett M. Dirksen, who defeated Lucas, is a former isolationist.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund