Menu JTA Search

Eighteen Jews Elected to New British Parliament

There will be at least 18 Jewish members of the new House of Commons, according to incomplete returns in Britain’s general election. All 18 ran on the Labor ticket. They include Barnett Janner, president of the British Zionist Federation, and S.S. Silverman, member of the executive of the World Jewish Congress.

In the Holborn constituency in London, three Jews, labor, Conservative and Liberal, contested for the seat which was won by Laborite W.S. Jager with a slim 179 vote lead over his Conservative rival, Col, L.Y. Gluckstein. Emanuel Shinwell, a member of the last Cabinet, and Ian Mikardo, a supporter of Aneurin Bevan, dissident Labor leader, were also re-elected.