Canada is 40th Country to Ratify the Genocide Convention
Menu JTA Search

Canada is 40th Country to Ratify the Genocide Convention

Download PDF for this date

David M. Johnson, permanent representative of Canada to the United Nations, yesterday deposited his government’s ratification of the convention on the prevention and punishment of the crime of genocide, Canada is the 40th country to become a party to the convention which outlaws genocide– denial of the right of existence of racial, religious, ethnic or national groups– as crime under international law.

Instruments of ratification or accession to the convention, which came into force on January 12, 1951, have been deposited by the following states: Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Ceylon, China, Costa Rica, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, France, Guatemala, Halti, Jordan, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Republic of Korea, Laos, Liberia, Monaco, Nicaragua, Norway, Mexico, Panama, Philippine Republic.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund