Menu JTA Search

Jewish Theological Colleges Award Honorary Degrees

The Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion. America’s only seminary of Reform Judaism, awarded honorary Doctor of Divinity Degrees today to five rabbis at ordination and commencement ceremonies held at the Stephen Wise Free Synagogue here.

Dr. Nelson Glueck, president of the College-Institute, conferred the degrees and ordained as rabbis members of the 29th graduating class of the Reform seminary’s New York school. Honorary degree recipients, all alumni, were: Herbert I. Bloom, Temple Emanuel, Kingston, N.Y.; Maurice J. Bloom, Temple Beth Jacob, Newburgh, N.Y.; Arthur J. Lelyveld, National Director, B’nai B’rith Hillel Foundation; Lawrence W. Schwartz, Jewish Community Center, White Plains, N.Y.; Herman E. Snyder, Temple Sinai, Springfield, Mass.