Menu JTA Search

American Jewish Committee Wins Award for Tv Program on Anti-semitism

A special program about anti-Semitism in colleges, produced by the American Broadcasting Company and the American Jewish Committee, “The Trophy,” won a $1, 000 award in the third annual Robert E. Sherwood Television Awards competition.

Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt, representing the Sherwood Awards jurors, presented cash totalling $14,000 to five shows which the jurors selected for dealing most effectively with the subject of freedom and justice in America. John Daly, ABC network vice president, received a plaque and Irving Engel, president of the American Jewish Committee, was awarded a special citation for “The Trophy.”