Menu JTA Search

Five Jews Elected to French Parliament in National Elections

Five Jews were elected to the Chamber of Deputies in yesterday’s second and final round in the French national elections, an official count revealed today.

Four of the Jews, Rene Moatti, M. Dreyfus-Ducas, Marcel Dassault and M. Bukanovsky, are members of Jacques Soustelle’s Union for the New Republic, the largest party in the new Parliament. One Jew, M. Ginsburg, is a Communist. A number of Jews who were eliminated in yesterday’s contests were nationally known figures, including Jules Moch, a member of several of France’s postwar Cabinets.