Convention of American Jewish Press Assn. Pledges Support for Israel
Menu JTA Search

Convention of American Jewish Press Assn. Pledges Support for Israel

Download PDF for this date

Resolutions supporting Israel’s “continued efforts toward building a bastion of democracy in the Middle East, ” and commending “representatives of other faiths who came to the defense of the Jewish community in America when synagogues were desecrated in recent anti-Semitic incidents, ” were adopted here at the 18th annual convention of the American Jewish Press Association.

The 28 member-newspaper representatives at the convention voted to admit, for the first time, representatives of Jewish weeklies in Canada that qualify for membership.

During the convention, addresses were delivered by James Meyerhoff, of Baltimore, vice-chairman of the Jewish Agency for Israel, Inc. and by Gottlieb Hammer, executive vice-chairman of the Agency. One evening session was devoted to a discussion of AJPA relationships with the Jewish Telegraphic Agency, which serves all of the organization’s member newspapers. Top executives of the JTA addressed that session.

The convention, which met for two days at the Park-Sheraton Hotel, was presided over by last year’s president, J.I. Fishbein, of The Sentinel, Chicago. At the conclusion of the sessions, the AJPA elected the following officers: Joseph Weissberg, Jewish Advocate, Boston, president; vice-presidents: Leo Frisoh, American Jewish World, Minneapolis-St. Paul; Albert Golomb, American Jewish Outlook. Pittsburgh; and Jules Miller, Jewish Exponent, Philadelphia. Milton Pinsky, of the Ohio Jewish Chronicle, Columbus, was chosen treasurer; and James Wisch, of the Texas Jewish Post, Ft. Worth, was elected secretary.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund