Menu JTA Search

Labor Zionists Fete Seven Israeli Mayors, All Members of Histadrut

Mayors of seven Israeli cities were guests at a public reception here tonight tendered by the National Committee for Labor Israel, The group of municipal leaders attended the international conference of mayors in Washington last week, and will return to Israel in a few days. Joseph Schlossberg,president of the National Committee for Labor Israel, presided.

All members of Histadrut, the Israel labor federation, the mayors include Mordechai Ish-Shalom of Jerusalem; Eliezer Schechter, deputy mayor of Tel Aviv; Seif El-din Zaub’i of Nazareth; Pinhas Rashish of Petah Tikva; Yitzhak Katz, Rehovot; Pinhas Eylon, Holon; Yaakov Cohen, Kiryat Ono. They are accompanied by Zev Meljon, secretary of the Israel Association of Municipal Authorities.