3 Israeli Scholars Receive Rothschild Prizes at Jerusalem Event
Menu JTA Search

3 Israeli Scholars Receive Rothschild Prizes at Jerusalem Event

Download PDF for this date

The annual Rothschild Prizes for achievement in the fields of social science, engineering and applied mathematics were awarded here last night to Prof. Gad Tedeschi, of the Hebrew University; Prof. Haim Leib Peckeris, of the Weizmann Institute; and Prof. Abraham Kogan, of the Technion at Haifa. The prizes of $3, 300 each, are given in memory of the late philanthropist, Baron Edmond de Rothschild.

The prizes were presented at the King David Hotel by Lord Rothschild, who reported briefly on the work of the Edmond Rothschild Memorial Group, a foundation which supports cultural and scientific activities in Israel, such as the country’s new educational television system.

Premier Levi Eshkol, who was the principal speaker at the event, said that the prizes were “no mere material awards but recognition that the recipients are enriching us far beyond the value of what they are receiving today. They enrich us with knowledge, the value of which will endure for generations.”

Among those attending the ceremony were former Premier David Ben-Gurion, Ash-kenazic Chief Rabbi Isser Untermann, James de Rothschild of France, Meyer Weisgal, chairman of the executive council of the Weizmann Institute, members of the Cabinet and Pinhas Rosen, a member of the Knesset, who was chairman of the awards committee.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund