59 Donors of $100,000 Each Honored by Jewish Theological Seminary
Menu JTA Search

59 Donors of $100,000 Each Honored by Jewish Theological Seminary

Download PDF for this date

Fifty-nine donors of $100,000 each to the Jewish Theological Seminary of America, during the institution’s current, 80th anniversary year, were honored here tonight at the first Founders Day dinner of the Seminary. All of the contributions had been made toward completion of new academic, residence and library facilities, as well as the creation of new chairs, lectureships and scholarships at the Seminary.

Among those honored, five business and civic leaders received the Seminary’s Eighteenth Anniversary Medal. They were C. Roy Chalk, Meshulam Riklis, Cllie A. Cohen, Louis Berry and Leonard Ratner. The presentations were made by Dr. Louis Finkelstein, chancellor of the Seminary. Addresses were delivered by Dr. Bernard Mandelbaum, Seminary president; Judge Simon H. Rifkind, and others.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund