3,742 Faculty Members in 128 Universities Demand Freedom of Passage to Eilat
Menu JTA Search

3,742 Faculty Members in 128 Universities Demand Freedom of Passage to Eilat

Download PDF for this date

A total of 3,742 faculty members from 128 universities around the United States signed this weekend a call addressed to Congress and the Washington Administration to “restore the freedom of passage through the Gulf of Akaba.” Under the aegis of an Ad Hoc Committee of American Professors for Freedom of Navigation in the Gulf of Akaba, the call was signed by university and college presidents, deans and professors from 23 states, representing a cross-section of the American academic world.

The statement urged the United States to “safeguard the integrity of the State of Israel” and declared: “The Arab blockade of the Strait of Tiran and the Gulf of Akaba is an attack on the very life of the State of Israel and its people. It is also an attack on the principles of international law and order, without which the world becomes a condition of war of every one against every one.'”

Included among the many academicians who signed the call were three Nobel Prize laureates: Dr. Felix Bloch and Dr. Arthur Kornberg of Stanford University; and Dr. Selman A. Waksman, of Rutgers University. Many non-Jews were among the signers, including Robert L. Bishop, dean of the School of Humanities and Social Science at Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Harold C. Case, president of Boston University; Dr. Buell G. Gallagher, president of the City College of New York; Father Hugh Edward Dunn, president of John Carroll University, Cleveland; and many other leading intellectuals on the campuses of higher institutions of learning throughout the United States.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund