Menu JTA Search

Aj Committee Opens 64th Annual Meeting; Roy Wilkins, Naacp President to Be Honored

The American Jewish Committee opens its 64th annual meeting Thursday night with a dinner honoring Roy Wilkins, Executive Director of the NAACP, who will receive the Committee’s top award, the American Liberties Medal. During the four-day meeting, the Far East and Middle East will be discussed by Raymond Aren, political columnist for the French newspaper Le Figaro. Also scheduled is a panel discussion on “Jewish Education: Its Impact on Jewish Family Life,” led by Dr. Marshall Sklare, professor of sociology at Yeshiva University. Several studies will be presented at the meeting including independent reports by a Protestant scholar and a Catholic scholar on the absence of Israel from Christian textbooks.